« PreviousContinue »
VICTORIA COLLEGE GWALIOR,
AFFILIATED IN ARTS, 1890 AND 1893, AND
This institution is under the control and supervision of the Inspector-General of Education, Gwalior State, and consists of two departments, English and Oriental. The English Department prepares students for the B.A. and B.Sc. standards, and the School Department is recognised. for the School Final-Examination. Engineering classes are attached to the English Department. The Gas installation and a workshop have been added to it. The Science allotment has been increased to Rs. 1,445 per annum for the up-keep of the laboratory.
MEERUT COLLEGE, MEERUT.
AFFILIATED IN ARTS, 1892 AND 1895; SCIENCE 1906; IN LAW, 1893.
This institution owes its origin to the liberality of the nobility and gentry of the Meerut Division, who created an Endowment Fund for the encouragement of Higher Education within the Division.
The College, which is aided by Government, consists of two departments, the College Proper, teaching up to
the B.A., B.Sc. and LL.B. Standard, and a School Department, consisting of two High School classes, which prepares students for the Entrance and School Final Examinations.
There is a Business Department in which typewriting, shorthand and book-keeping are taught. Arrangement, are also made for those students who desire to enter the Thomason Engineering College, Roorkee.
The institution was founded in 1892, and is governed by a Board of Management, but the immediate control of the College is in the hands of an Executive Committee, three members of which are ex officio and the rest elected by the Board of Management.
The College receives an annual grant of Rs. 1,200 from the Meerut Municipality.
Connected with the College is a Boarding Establishment for the accommodation of district students.
The "Harrington," the "Ganga Saran," and eight other scholarships granted by the Committee are competed for every half-year by the students of the College. Department.
The "Wyer Gold Medal" is awarded annually to the best student in the Fourth Year B.A. Class, and the "Ganga Saran Silver Medal" to the best student in the Second Year Intermediate Class.
ISABELLA THOBURN COLLEGE, LUCKNOW. AFFILIATED IN ARTS, 1892 AND 1895.
Founded in 1870. A High School Department was opened in 1882; and the first candidate for the Entrance Examination sent up in 1884.
Affiliated to the Calcutta University to the F.A. Standard in 1886, and to the University of Allahabad in 1892.
The institution is under the patronage of the Woman's Foreign Missionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church of America.
Two hundred students are enrolled in the College and the Normal and High School Departments. Of these 150 are boarders.
JASWANT COLLEGE, JODHPUR.
Principal & Profr. of Science
Asst. Profr. of Eng. Literature
Do. of Sanskrit
Pandit Suraj Prakash, M.A.
Jadu Gopal Banerji, M.A.
Purushotam Dave, B.A.
M. Muzaffer Ali Shah.
CHRISTIAN COLLEGE, ALLAHABAD.
AFFILIATED IN ARTS, 1903 AND 1905; IN SCIENCE, 1905.
In October 1846, the British East India Company transferred its College work at Allahabad to the Ame rican Presbyterian Mission. When the British Civil Station was removed from the Jumna in 1853, the Mission purchased the Court building for educational purposes for the sum of Rs. 6,000. The institution was in the beginning a Collegiate School. After a few years, College classes were abolished and School classes alone continued, the institution being known as the Jumna Mission School.
In 1900 the American Presbyterian Mission decided to reopen College work at Allahabad, and the first class was begun in 1902. In order to keep School and College separate the old Court building was demolished and a new School building erected at the western end of the Jumna compound, thus leaving the eastern end free for the College buildings and campus.
The eastern end now contains three bungalows, one of which is used as a Hostel, a Laboratory, a new twostorey Hostel, and a special student building erected by the Alumni of Princeton University, which contains a students' common room, a Reading Room and Library, a suite of rooms for a professor and a number of students'
rooms. The main College building is yet to be erected Seven members of the staff live on the compound.
The number of students in 1905-06 was 102.
Rev. Arthur H. Ewing, M.A.,
Principal and Profr. of English and
Professor of Physics and Director
of Physical Science Laboratory, Preston H. Edwards, M.A.
Professor of English and Pol.
S. Higginbottom, B.A.
N. B. Mittra, M.A.
CANADIAN MISSION COLLEGE, INDORE.
AFFILIATED IN ARTS, 1905.
This institution was opened as a High School in 1884 by the Central India Mission of the Presbyterian Church in Canada. In 1888 it was affiliated with the University of Calcutta as far as the F.A. Standard, and raised in 1893 to the B.A. Standard. By the conditions of the Indian Universities Act of 1904 it was brought within the jurisdiction of Allahabad, and in 1905 was affiliated with this University.
All College and High School classes are held in the main building, a two-storeyed edifice built under the late Principal, Rev. Dr. Wilkie. It is situated within the Residency limits and surrounded by its own grounds.