Masters of American Cookery: M.F.K. Fisher, James Andrew Beard, Raymond Craig Claiborne, Julia McWilliams Child

Front Cover
U of Nebraska Press, 2005 - Cooking - 424 pages
Ever since American soldiers returned home after World War II with a passion for pt and escargots instead of pork and beans, our preferences have moved from cooked to raw, from canned to fresh, from bland to savory, from water to wine. And guiding us through our culinary revolution have been four of the world's finest food experts: Julia Child, Craig Claiborne, James Beard, and M. F. K. Fisher. In Masters of American Cookery, Betty Fussell demonstrates vividly how each of these chefs has made a unique and invaluable contribution to the American way of cooking and eating. In more than two hundred recipes?in chapters on appetizers, soups, salads, sauces, meats, poultry, fish, breads, cheeses and wines, and desserts?Fussell shares the artistry of these culinary masters. She also traces the evolution of each dish and provides insightful, often witty asides about the origins of the recipes. In the tradition of Waverley Root and M. F. K. Fisher herself, Fussell has combined elements of history, memoir, and the cookbook to create a food lover?s delight. As entertaining as it is instructive, Masters of American Cookery belongs on the bookshelf of anyone who cares about good food. Fussell provides a preface for this Bison Books edition.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Everyman a Cook
3
Learned to Cook
11
The Making of Four American Masters
21
James Andrews Beard
31
And All Those Others
54
How to Read a Recipe
60
How to Use This Book
67
Drink and Drink Food
75
Soups
97
Fish and Shellfish
185
Selected Bibliography
401
Index
407
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Betty Fussell is the author of ten books, ranging from biography to cookbooks, memoir, and food history, including The Story of Corn. Her volume of memoirs, My Kitchen Wars, was performed as a one-woman show in New York and Los Angeles.

Bibliographic information