The Gates: A Samuel Johnson Tale

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Sep 28, 2010 - Fiction - 304 pages
52 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
Bursting with imagination and impossible to put down, this “wholly original” (People) and “refreshing” (San Francisco Chronicle) novel from New York Times bestselling author John Connolly is about the pull between good and evil, physics and fantasy—and a quirky boy, who is impossible not to love, and the unlikely cast of characters who give him the strength to stand up to a demonic power.

Young Samuel Johnson and his dachshund, Boswell, are trying to show initiative by trick-or-treating a full three days before Halloween, which is how they come to witness strange goings-on at 666 Crowley Road. The Abernathys don't mean any harm by their flirtation with the underworld, but when they unknowingly call forth Satan himself, they create a gap in the universe, a gap through which a pair of enormous gates is visible. The gates to Hell. And there are some pretty terrifying beings just itching to get out...

Can one small boy defeat evil? Can he harness the power of science, faith, and love to save the world as we know it?
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
13
4 stars
20
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
1

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - MarkLacy - LibraryThing

[2010] Having read John Connolly's The Book of Lost Things and enjoying it, I looked forward to reading his latest novel, The Gates. Unfortunately, a hundred pages into the book, I'm giving up. In ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - et.carole - LibraryThing

This was another spectacular book in the vein of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's Good Omens. Samuel and his trusty pal Boswell are just adorable. You spend most of the book wanting to give Samuel a ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
5
Section 3
15
Section 4
25
Section 5
39
Section 6
47
Section 7
51
Section 8
55
Section 19
151
Section 20
159
Section 21
171
Section 22
177
Section 23
187
Section 24
191
Section 25
199
Section 26
207

Section 9
59
Section 10
61
Section 11
71
Section 12
81
Section 13
91
Section 14
97
Section 15
113
Section 16
123
Section 17
131
Section 18
141
Section 27
217
Section 28
225
Section 29
237
Section 30
247
Section 31
257
Section 32
265
Section 33
275
Section 34
279
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

John Connolly is the author of the Charlie Parker series of thrillers, the supernatural collection Nocturnes, the Samuel Johnson Trilogy for younger readers, and (with Jennifer Ridyard) the Chronicles of the Invaders series. He lives in Dublin, Ireland. For more information, see his website at JohnConnollyBooks.com, or follow him on Twitter @JConnollyBooks.

Bibliographic information