Page images

gislebert, to whom the castle was granted about the year 1138, who placed in it an abbot and canons of the Augustine order. According to Dugdale, its annual revenues amounted, at the dissolution, to the sum of 1671. 14s. 6d. per annum. - The Church, dedicated to St. Peter, is a handsome building, and formerly had two large square towers at the west end, one of which is nearly down. The church consists of a lofty chancel, a nave, with side ailes, and a short transept on the south side. The nave is separated from the ailes by circular plain arches, springing from large columns, exhibiting a specimen of the early Norman style. At the west door is a piscina and pointed arcades, over which are two lancet windows, and a large window, having four mullions, with tracery. On the outside of the south porch is another piscina. - Bourne contains a meeting-house for protestant dissenters; also two almshouses, each endowed with 30l. per annum, one for six poor men, and the other for six poor women. Here is also a free school, with a salary for the master of 30l. per annum. This town has twice suffered severely by fire. The first occurring on the 25th of August, 1605, by which was destroyed that part of the town called Manor-Street, not leaving a single house standing. Again, on the 25th of March, 1637, another fire destroyed the greater part of Eastgate, or as it is written in records, Eaugate. - In the centre of the market place is an ancient town-hall, said to have been erected by one of the Wake family; but from the arms of Cecil, carved in baso relievo over the centre of the east front, it is more probable that it was built by the treasurer, Lord Burleigh. The petty sessions for the parts of Kesteven are regularly held here at Michaelmas and Christmas. In this town a few Roman coins have been dug up, and, about fifty years ago, a tessellated parement was discovered in the park grounds. In a farm yard, within the town, is a medicinal spring, much frequented, the waters of which have a brackish taste, and a - purgative purgative quality; very similar in their effects, but of greater strength than those of Astrop, in the county of Northampton. A Canal has been made hence to Boston, for boats of ten tons burden. By means of this navigation some mercantile business is carried on; but the chief trade of the place is wool-stapling and tanning leather. The market, which is but little frequented, is held on Saturdays, and the town has four fairs annually. The number of houses, by the returns under the population act, were 282, of inhabitants 1,474. \ That eminent statesman, and exalted character, WILLIAM CECIL, Baron Burleigh, whose loyalty to his sovereign, and unbiassed patriotism, preserved the religious establishment and civil polity of this kingdom from falling a prey to despotic tyranny and papal superstition, was a native of this place. He was born at the house of his grandfather, David Cecil, Esq. in the year 1520. In 1535 he was admitted of St. John's College, in the university of Cambridge, where, at the early age of fifteen, he read a lecture on sophistry; and at the age of nineteen he gave a Greek lecture. After leaving college he applied himself to the study of the law; and in the year 1547, having been made master of requests, he, in the following year, partook of the disgrace which fell on the Lord Protector Somerset, with whom he was sent to the Tower. After suffering three months imprisonment, he was released, reinstated in his office, received the honour of knighthood, and was chosen a member of the privy council. In 1553 he was appointed chancellor to the order of the garter, with an annual fee of 100 marks. On the death of Edward the Sixth, Sir William Cecil prudently declined taking any part in the business, which terminated fatally for Lord Dudley, and his unfortunate consort, the Lady Jane Grey. On the accession of Queen Mary he was graciously received at court; but refusing to change his religion, he was dismissed from his employments. On Queen Elizabeth's succeeding to the throne in 1558, the cloud was quickly dispelled which had lately obscured both his fortune and fame. A few days after her 3 D 4 accession

accession he was sworn one of her privy council, became her chief cabinet minister, and made secretary of state. In 1561 he received the appointment of master of the wards; and in 1571 he was created Baron Lord Burleigh. The following year he was honoured with the order of the garter, and raised to the office of lord high treasurer of England, which distinguished situation he held twenty-seven years, performing its duties with credit to himself, and to the satisfaction of his sovereign and the country. Having thus filled some of the most important situations, and guided the helm of state during the most critical and glorious period of English history, he departed this life on the 4th of August, 1598, in the seventy-eighth year of his age. His remains were removed to the burial place at Stamford, where a most magnificent monumental tomb was erected to his memory. To those acquainted with the history of their country any eulogium. on him would be superfluous. Suffice it to add, that Camden, in his Annals, observes, “He was one of those few who lived and died with equal glory. Such a man as, while others regard with admiration, I, after the ancient manner, rather contemplate with silent and religious veneration”,” . . . .

The Rev. Dr. William Dodd was also a native of Bourne, where he was born in 1729. His father was vicar of this parish, and brought up this son to the church; which he lived to honour by his eloquence and erudition, and to disgrace by his fatal propensity to gallantry and fashionable dissipation. Never, perhaps, was there a clergyman whose manners and writings obtained greater patronage and admiration; yet a single act of injustice involved him in ruin, and brought him to an untimely end. Having committed a forgery on Lord Chesterfield for the sum of 4200l. he was arrested, committed to Newgate, tried, and convicted; and though the most powerful influence was exerted in his behalf, and various modes of preserving his life was em. ployed, he was doomed to suffer death at Tyburn, June 27, 1777.


* * * * * * Annales Elizabetha, Anno 1598.



Is a small town, pleasantly situated on the side and summit of a hill, abounding with springs. The church stands at the N.W. end of the town, and consists of a nave, with north and south ailes, chancel and porch, with a room over it, and has a handsome lofty stone tower, crowned with eight croketted pinnacles. : The manor of Folkingham was given, by the Conqueror, to Gilbert de Gaunt, who came over with him from Normandy, and eminently distinguished hinself at the decisive battle of Hastings: for which service William, when he came to the throne, amply rewarded him. For in the Domesday Book it appears, that besides forty-one other lordships which Gilbert was seized of in different counties, he possessed one hundred and thirty-one in Lincolnshire, of which Folkingham was one. This place he made his seat, and constituted it the head of the barony. A descendant of Gilbert de Gaunt, who died without issue, 2d of January, 1274, appointed King Edward the First his heir to the manor and lands of this barony. They were, by that monarch, granted, for eminent services, to Henry de Bellomonte, or Beaumont, who was usually called “Consanguineus Regis.” In the family of the Bellomontes the manor continued till the time of Henry the Seventh. After that period it came into the family of the Duke of Norfolk; but being forfeited by the attainder of Thomas, Duke of Norfolk, it was granted by King Edward the Sixth, in exchange for lands in the county of Worcester, to the family of Clinton. Here was formerly a Castle, probably built by Henry de Bellomonte. “From Grimsthorpe to Sempringham five miles; and a mile thence, somewhat inward, is the castle of Fokingham, sometime the Lord Bardolfe's, since the Lord Bellomonte's, now longing to the Duke of Norfolk. . It hath been a goodly house, but it now falleth to ruin, and standeth even about the edge of the fenns”.” Even - the * Leland's Itin, Vol. I, f. 28,

the ruins have disappeared; and the only remains to mark where once the castle stood, are the moats and mounds on the eastern side of the town. Folkingham has a weekly market on Thursdays, and eight annual fairs. The resident population, by the returns made to government in 1801, was 531, the number of houses 100. South-east of the town is a large Encampment, with a deep foss and lofty vallum. Within the area is a square keep of raised earth, defended also by a foss capable of being filled with water from the adjoining brook. Without the area, at the northeast corner, is a small fortified enclosure, intended as an advanced work to secure the water for the use of the garrison.

SEMPRINGHAM, about three miles east-south-east of Folkingham, is noted in the monastical annals of England, for giving birth to Sir Gilbert de Sempringham, who founded a novel religious order, and settled it at his native place. Gilbert was the eldest son of a Norman knight, and was sent to France for education. Returning thence, he took orders, and obtained great preferments; being presented to the churches of Tissingden and Sempringham, and appointed chaplain to the Bishop of Lincoln. Having devoted himself wholly to a religious life, he obtained leave of Pope Eugenius III. in the year 1148, to institute a new order of monks, to be called Gilbertines. The singularity of the plan adopted by, and the reputed piety of the first recluse, soon attracted the attention of others, and induced numbers of both sexes to join the society. For their reception Gilbert employed his large estate in building a house, and settling on the institution an adequate endowment. The rules laid down for the regulation of the order were-1. That the nuns should follow the rules of St. Benedict, and the monks the rules of St. Augustin.-2. That the men should live in a separate habitation from the women, and never have access to the nuns but at the administration of the sacrament.—3. That the same church should serve both for divine service,—4. That the sacrament


« PreviousContinue »