« PreviousContinue »
guished himself at the Battle of Tenerchebray in Normandy, where “Henry the First encountered Robert Curthose, his brother. Matthew Paris describes the actions of William as being particularly valiant on this occasion. King Stephen and Henry the Second granted the eastle of Belvoir to Ranulph de Gernons, Earl of Chester: but it was again obtained by de Albini, who died here about 1155. He obtained from Henry the First a grant of an an
nual fair at Belvoir, to be continued for eight days. William de Albini (alias Meschines, and Brito), the next possessor of Belvoir, &c. endowed the Priory here with certain lands, and, in 1165, on the aid granted to Henry II. for marrying his eldest daughter Maud to the Emperor, certified the king that he then held of him thirty-two knights' fees under the old feoffment, whereby he was enfeoffed in the time of King Henry
the First. William de Albini, the third of the name,was a distinguished characterin the reign of KingRichard the First, and went with that monarch into Normandy in 1195. In 1211, a peace being concluded tween King John and the French King, William de Albini was one of the sureties for the former. He was also one of those twenty-five barons who swore to the observation of Magna Charta and Charta de Foresta, sealed by the King at Runnemeade, in the 17th year of his reign. Afterwards he was engaged in the barons' wars, and was taken prisoner by the king's party at Rochester Castle. The castle at Belvoir was also seized by the monarch. Previous to his death, he granted several immunities to the Priory of Belvoir, for the health of his own soul, and the soul of Agatha his wife, and the soul of Margery his former wife. He also founded, and plentifully endowed, the hospital of our lady, called Novum-locum, (Newstead,) at Wassebridge, between Stamford and Uffington, where he was interred in May 1236.
An opulent heiress of the house of Albini, named Isabel, married to Robert de Ros, or Roos, baron of Hamlake, and thus carried these estates, &c. into a new family. The bounds of the lordship of Belvoir at this time are described by a document R k 2 printed
printed in Nichols's History. This new lord obtained a licence from Henry III. to hold a weekly market at Belvoir, and an annual fair. He died in 1285, and his body was buried at Kirkham, his bowels before the high altar at Belvoir, and his heart at Croxton Abbey. It was a common practice in this age, for eminent characters to have their corporal remains thus distributed after death. An inscription, with the arms of Robert de Ros, is preserved in the church at Bottesford. In 1304, William de Ros was allowed to inclose 100 acres in the parish of Redmile, under the name of Bever Park, which was appropriated solely to the preservation of game. This gentleman was a benafactor to the Priory of Belvoir, to the Priory of Ouston, and also to the house of White Friars at Blakeney in Norfolk. He died in 1317, and was buried in the monastery of Kirkham. - " . . William de Ros, eldest son of the above, finished the foundation in 1321, which his father had begun, at Blakeney; was made Lord Ros, of Werke, took the title of Baron Ros, of Hamlake, Werke, Belvoir, and Trusbut: and had summons to parliament from 11th Edward II. to 16th Edward III. He was also appointed Lord High Admiral of England. Dying in 1342, he was interred at Kirkham, in Yorkshire, under a monument near the great altar. - * * * - Sir William de Ros, Knight, was a very distinguished character during the reign of Henry the Fourth ; was appointed Lord High Treasurer in 1402, and one of the triers of petitions in parliament. He also held several other offices of state. By his will he gave 400l. “for finding ten honest chaplains to pray for his soul, and the souls of his father, mother, brethren, sisters,” &c. for eight years, within his chapel at Belvoir Castle. He died here in 1414; and his monument was removed from Belvoir Priory to Bottesford church, after the dissolution, John Ros, the eldest son of the above, succeeded to the estates in 1414, and was slain, with his brother William, at Baugé, near Anjou. His remains were brought to England, and immured at Belvoir, and his monument is now preserved at Bottesford. He Was was succeeded by Thomas Ros, his brother, who was knighted in the wars of France. Dying in 1431, he was succeeded by his son, who was then an infant; but who, on coming to age, took an active part in the civil wars between the houses of York' and Lancaster. He was attainted in parliament, the 4th of November, 1461; and the possessions of this noble family were parcelled out, by King Edward the Fourth, among his numerous partizans. “The honor, castle, and lordship of Belvoir, with the park, and all its members, viz. Wolsthorp, Barkston, Plungar, Redmile, Harby, Bottesford, Normanton, and Easthorpe, with the advowsons of their several churches, and the rent called Castle-guard throughout England, at that time an appurtenance to this castle, were granted, August 9th, 1467, to William, Lord Hastings, to hold of the king and his heirs, by homage only".” Leland gives the following account of the castle, &c. at this time. “The Lord Ros toke King Henry the VI. parte agayn King Edwarde: wherapon the Lord Roses landes stode as confiscate, King Edward prevailing; and Bellevoir castle was given in keeping to the Lord Hastings; the which coming thither upon a tyme to peruse the ground, and to İye in the castel, was sodenly repellid by Mr. Harington, a man of poure thereabout, and friend to the Lord Rose; whereapon the Lord Hastings came thither another tyme with a stronge poure, and apon a raging wylle spoilid the castelle, defacing the rofes, and taking the leades of them to wherwith they were al covirid. Then felle alle the castelle to ruine; and the tymbre of the roses unkeverid rotted away; and the soile betwene the waulles at the last grue ful of elders; and no habitation was - K k 3 - there
• Nichols's History, from “Pat. 7, Edward IV. Pars 1."
* “The Lord Hastinges caryed much of this leade to Aschely-de-laZouche, wher he much buildid. The Lord Hastinges likewise spoiled Stoke de Albayne, a goodly manor place of the Roses, . . . . miles from Stanford, as I remember, in Northamptonshire, and carryid part of it also to Asheby-de-la-Zouche.” Leland's Itin. Vol. I, fo. 114-115.
there tyl that of late dayes the eyrle of Rutland hath made it
was during the time that this Earl of Rutland possessed Belvoir Castle, that Leland visited it, and described it in the following terms. “It is a straunge sighte to se be how many steppes of stone the way goith up from the village to the castel. In the castel be 2 faire gates; and the dungeon is a faire rounde towere now turned to pleasure, as a place to walk yn, and to se al the countery aboute, and raylid about the round (wall), and a garden (plotte) in the midle. There is also a welle of grete depth in the castelle, and the spring thereof is very good *.” Henry, the second Earl of Rutland, succeeded his father in 1543; and, after being engaged in some of the Scotch wars, devoted his attention to the castle of Belvoir, the buildings of which were greatly extended during his life. He also collected together, from the ruined monasteries, several of the monuments of his ancestors. In 1556, he was appointed, by Philip and Mary, captain-general of all the forces then going to France, also chief commander of the fleet. He was installed knight of the garter, June 4, 1559; and the same year was made lord lieutenant of the counties of Nottingham and Rutland. His monument, with those of the other Earls of Rutland, have been already noticed in the account of Bottesford. Edward, the third Earl of Rutland, eldest son of the former, succeeded in 1563; was made lord lieutenant of the county of Lincoln in 1582; and knight of the garter in 1585. Camden calls him, “a profound lawyer, and a man accomplished with all polite learning t.” In his will, which is written in a style very superior to the generality of such productions, he di. rects 100l. at least, to be expended on his tomb. John, a colonel of foot in the Irish wars, became fourth. Earl of Rutland in 1587; and, in the same year, was constituted K k 4 constable
* “This well is 114 feet deep, and has still usually in summer about thirty-eight feet of water.” Nichols. o
t History of Queen Elizabeth, Book III. p. 127,