Page images
PDF

FRAMLAND HUNDRED occupies the north eastern portion deicestershire, and runs, in a narrow neck of land, between the conties of Nottingham and Lincoln; the latter bounding it to the ea, and the former to the north. Part of Rutlandshire attaches tothe southern side, and the hundred of East Goscote bounds it othe west. A small portion of this hundred is included betwen the hundreds of Guthlaxton and East Goscote. The na-. tull features of this part of the county are diversified by some bol elevations and fertile vallies. Among the latter, the Vale of Beloir, which extends along the north western side of this hundre, is noted for its prolific pasturage. Part of the Wolds extena nearly through the centre of it; and the rivers Eye and Devon derive their source from this district. The Grantham Cana crosses it from Nottinghamshire to Lincolnshire. Here is only one market town, Melton Mowbray; but it is adorned with noble seats at Belvoir, Croxton, Godeby, and Stapleford. A turnpike.road communicates between Melton and Leicester; also from the former town to Oakham, to Nottingham, and to Graatham. . . . -: In 1283 this hundred was granted, by Edward the Second, to Roger Beler, for the fee-farm rent of 100 shillings. In the following year the grant was renewed, with the specification of some annual rents, which were termed Palfrey-Silver of Beauver, Wakyng-Silver, Shiress-toth, and Frank-pledge. In 1346, this hundred was assessed 311. Os. 4d. towards knighting Edward of Woodstock. The hundred court now belongs to the Earl of Moira. The following list of townships, &c. in this hundred, is extracted from Mr. Nichols's History.

- Abkettleby, a vicarage; includ- Bottesford, a rectory; including Holwell, which has a cha- ing the hamlets of Easthorpe

pel; and the ancient hamlet and Normanton.

of Holt. - - Braunston, a rectory. Barkston, a vicarage. . Broughton (Nether), a rectory. Belvoir castle and priory. Buckminster, a vicarage; in

, Vol. IX. I i cluding

cluding the hamlet of Sewsterit. Cawdwell, a chapelry belonging to Rothley; with the hamlet of Wikeham. Clarton, Long, a vicarage. Cold-Overton, a rectory. Coston, a rectory. Croxton-Kyriel, a vicarage. Crowton abbey. Dalby, Little, a vicarage. Eastwell, a rectory. Eaton, a vicarage. Edmondthorpe, a rectory. Garthorpe, a vicarage. Godeby-Marwood, a rectory. Harby, a rectory. Hareston, a rectory. Hose, a vicarage. Kirkby-Beler, a curacy. Knipton, a rectory. Leesthorp, a hamlet belonging to Pickwell. Marlfield, South, a chapelry belonging to Tilton.

MELTON-Mow BRAY, a vi

carage; including Burtol Lazars, Freely, Sysonby, a Welby, in each of which the is a chapel; and Eye-Kettle, where the chapel is in ruin Muston, a rectory. Plungar, a vicarage. Redmile, a rectory. Saltby, a vicarage; includig the manor of Bertsany, commonly called Bescal's Sarby, a rectory. | Scalford, a vicarage; incláing Goldsmith's Grange. Somerby, a vicarage. Sprowton, a vicarage. Stapleford, a vicarage. Stathern, a rectory. . . Stonesby, a vicarage. f Thorpe-Ernald, a vicarage; including Brentingly chapel. Waltham on the Wolds, a rectory. Withcote, a rectory. Wiverby, a rectory. Wymondham, a rectory.

MELTON MOWBRAY,

In ancient writings called Medeltune, Meltone, and afterwards Melton-Mowbray, from its early lords, is a small well built town, situated in a vale, on the banks of the river Eye. It is fifteen miles distant from Leicester, sixteen from Grantham, twenty from Nottingham, and ten from Oakham; and is intersected by the turnpike roads leading to these towns. In the ecclesiastical division, it is included in the deanry of Framland.

“ From

[ocr errors][ocr errors]

“From Clauson to Melton,” says Leland, “a good iii miles by good corne ground. Betwixt Trent ripe and Melton many benes and peson, as yt is communely thorough al Leyrecestreshir. From Melton to Burton Lazar, a veri fair hospital and collefiate chirch, scant a mile. To Borow hills more than ii miles.

This standeth in the very hy way bytwixt Melton and London.

'o thes Borow hills every yere on Monday after White Sonday

eme people of the contery therabout, and shote, renne, wrastle,

dunce, and use like other feats of exercise".” The parish of

Melton is four miles in extent; and, the five hamlets of Burton

Lears, Eye-Kettleby, Freeby, Sysonby, and Welby, are de

pedant on the town, and included in the parish, paying levies

to he mother church, and having divine service performed at

each in turn by the vicar. In the reign of Edward the Con

fessor, the lordship of Melton, originally of very great extent, was in the possession of Leurie Fitz Leuin; and was the chief of twenty-seven lordships, which, after the conquest, was bestowed on Goisfrid de Wirce: at this remote period it had obtained the peculiar privilege of a market, whence accrued a revenue of twenty shillings per annum. Goisfrid was succeeded in the lordship by Nigell de Albini, whose son, by order of Henry the First, assumed the name of Mowbray, in which family it long continued. In the beginning of the seventeenth century we find it possessed by Robert Hudson, Esq. citizen of London, and a great benefactor to his native town of Melton. From the Hudsons, John Coke, Esq. purchased the manor and honour; which descended in 1750, by marriage, to Matthew Lamb, Esq. an eminent conveyancer of Lincoln's Inn, who was created a Baronet in 1755. In an act passed in 1760, for dividing and inclosing the several open and common fields and common pastures in Melton Mowbray, containing together about 2000 acres, Sir Matthew Lamb is described as lord of the honour and manor, and proprietor of a considerable part of the lands and grounds Ii 2 therein. therein. Sir Matthew died in 1768, and was succeeded by his

* Itin, Vol. V. p. 93.

son, Sir Peniston, who was created Baron Melbourne in 177 and Wiscount in 1780. - - Near this town a severe battle took place, Feb. 25, 1644-5, between Sir Marmaduke Langdale, who commanded the royalists, and a party of the parliamentary troops, under the command o Colonel Rossiter. About the middle of the seventeenth century, several trades men's tokens were issued at this town; whence Mr. Nichols inferi that the place was then distinguished for “considerable traffic Six of the tokens are engraved in Vol. I. of the History of Leice: tershire. Connected with this town are three bridges, over he rivers Eye and Scalford. These are repaired, and the streetsire preserved in good condition, with lamps, &c. from the rnts arising out of the town estates. Here is a weekly market on Thursdays; and at every alternate market is generally a lage shew of cattle. In this town are three annual fairs, and also a statute fair for servants. It appears by the parish register, that in the year 1653, and some following years, the publication of banns was announced at the market cross, and that two justices of the peace performed the marriage ceremony. In this town is a manor oven, fourteen feet in diameter, the possessor of which endeavoured to compel all the inhabitants to bake their bread in it, in the time of Sir Matthew Lamb; but the townspeople refused to comply, and established another oven of larger dimensions. | The church is a large, handsome structure; and consists of a nave, ailes, transepts, chancel, tower in the centre, and an handsome porch at the west end. The latter is a peculiar feature in the building, and has an elegant door way, with ogee arch; also two niches on each side, and two ornamented windows. ...Above this porch is the large western window, consisting of five lights, with four lofty mullions, and some decorated tracery. Over the ailes is a continued, and almost connected, series of clerestory windows, of three lights each. The whole church - ls is crowned with an embattled parapet; and at each angle is a crocketed pinnacle. The tower consists of two stories above the church, of good proportion, and handsome architecture. In the lower tier are three lancet-shaped windows in each face, with long slender columns, having central bands, and plain circular capitals. In these windows the zigzag ornament prevails; and at the angles of the tower (in this tier) are three quarter columns. The upper tier is of a different, and later style of architecture; and the summit is adorned with eight pursled pinnacles, and a richly perforated and embattled ballustrade. At the north-east angle is a circular stair-case, projecting beyond the square of the tower. Within, the building presents a neat, and nearly uniform appearance; and the whole has been carefully and laudably preserved by the present worthy vicar, the Rev. Dr. Ford, who has, in this sacred building, set a most exemplary pattern to the neighbouring clergy. The nave is divided from the ailes by six high pointed arches on each side, springing from four clustered columns; and in the transepts are ailes, arches, with columns, &c. The transepts measure 117 feet in length, by 38 feet in breadth; from the western door to the chancel is 113 feet; the chancel is 51 feet long, by 21 feet in width; and the nave is 56 feet wide. Leland calls it “a faire paroche church, sumtime an hospital and cell to Lewis in Sussex.” On the north side of the chancel is an embattled vestry, with the date of 1532 over its eastern window, Here are some fragments, and figures of painted glass. Among the monumental inscriptions is one to “Rob ERT HUDSON, Esq. citizen of London, and of St. Mary Bothaw; was born in this towu, 1570; founded the hospital adjoining to the church, 1640; and died 1641.” Several others of the Hudson family were interred here. In the south aile, commonly called Digby's Aile, is an effigy of a cross-legged knight, in a round helmet of mail, with a band, his shield on his left arm, bearing a lion rampant. Over him, in modern characters, “This is the LoRD HAMON BELER,

- Ii 3. • * brother

« PreviousContinue »