Page images
PDF

being here. In this field were three barrows, or tumuli”,” but none of these are perfect, Numerous coins, pieces of pottery, bones, &c., and a small mill-stone, have been discovered, here. Some of the coins are represented by engravings in the history of Leicestershire. ---, o * * ** 1: ..... ... • * * * * * * *. to * * * * * * * * a . . At Holt, a hamlet attached to Medbourn, a mineral spring was discovered in 1728; and Dr. Short published a pamphlet in 1742, descriptive of the “contents, virtues, and uses, of NevilHolt spaw-water; with some histories of its signal effects in various diseases,” &c. This was reprinted with additions, &c., in 1749. In the church at Holt, are some moutaments to the family of Nevill; a descendant of whom, Cosmas Nevill, Esq. F. S. A. has a large haudsome house here,

[ocr errors]

* * * ." - • * * * * The village of Norton, anciently called King's Norton, seven and half miles distant from Leicester, has a remarkably handsome small modern church, which was , built by the late William Fortrey, Esq. who died, seized of the lordship of Norton, in the year 1783. The church consists of only a nave, at the west end of which is a steeple. The whole building is uniform in style, and has seven pointed, arched windows on each.side, with three at the east end. These are all divided into four lights each, by a perpendicular and a horizontal mullion, over which is a quaterfoil opening, : The parapet has two rows of perforated stones, and the summit is ornamented with sixteen crocketed pinnacles. The inside of this sacred structure is fitted up with two rows of pews

(in the manner of collegiate chapels) made of fine English oak. - The church of King's Norton was given to the abbot and convent of Ouston, by Robert Grimbald, and confirmed to them by King Henry the Second, and again by King Richard the First. Some disputes arose between the rector and the abbot, at three or four different times; and the Pope appointed, delegates, to settle these differences. * * * * * * * - Nos ELEY,

***

* Nichols's History of Leicestershire, Vol. II. p. 117.

NosFLEY, in some old writings written Noveslie, Nouslee, and Gnousale, is a village, about seven miles north from Market Harborough. Here is an old manor house, called NoseleyHall, which belongs to the Hesilrige family; and was much enlarged and nearly rebuilt by Sir Arthur Hesilrige, Bart. whe was an admirer of the fine Arts, and passed a considerable time in Rome and other parts of Italy; whence he brought home many pictures and antiques. Among these are the following: A large portrait of Peter the Great, painted when he was in England in 1698. A portrait of the late Sir Arthur Hesilrige, in the Green parlour, where are some other pictures painted by Francisco Trevisani, at Rome, in 1723. A full length of Buffardin, who was musician to the King of Poland, with two listening females. Portraits of Albano, Rembrandt, Pietro de Testa, Raffael, Michael Angelo, and Titian. Large portraits of George Williers, first duke of Buckingham; and of Henry Rich, first Earl of Hsiland. In the dining room are six views of dif: ferent subjects in and near Rome. Full length of Caianus, a Swede, aet. 27, painted by E. Seaman; he was seven feet ten inches high, and was shewn at the king's theatre in Loudon, in 1734. Two small portraits of King Charles the First and his Queen: a whole length portrait of Oliver Cromwell in armour. His head is uncovered, and an attendant at his side is tying his sash. Besides these, here are a great number of portraits, landscapes, and other pictures. Part of the house is now occupied by a farmer; but the principal rooms are fast hastening to decay. The church at Noseley, with the tithes and the churches of Carleton, Glenfield, and Balgrave, aud two virgates of land, were given by Hugo de Grentesmainell to the abbey and convent of St. Ebrulph. Leland says, at Noseley “is a collegiate paroch chirch, of three priests, two clerkes, and four choristers. Noseley longeth to the Blaketes; and an heir general of them, aboute Edward the Third tyme, was maried to one Roger Mortevalle, that foundid the litle college of Noseley. This Noseley and other other landes thereaboute cam onto two doughters of one of the Mortevilles, whereof one was maried onto Hughe Hastinges; the other was a nunne, and alienid much of her parte. After this, Nosely, by an heire generele, cam in mariage to Hesilrig, in which name it dothe yet remayne. The name of Hesilrig came out of Scotlende”.” The church is large, and consists of a nave and chancel of the same height and width. In the eastern window of the latter is some painted glass, consisting of figures of some of the Apostles, with scrolls and coats of arms. In the chancel is three stone-seats and a piscina, and in the body of the church are two piscinae and a locker. Here is also a very elegant font, ornamented with pannelled compartments, tracery, foliated pinnacles, pediments, &c. In the chancel is a large Tombstone of black and white marble, with the effigies of three persons; a man, in amour, and two women. On the pedestal are the figures of twelve persons kneeling, the children of Sir Arthur Hesilrige by his two wives, as described in the following inscription: “Here lyes SIR ARTHUR HESILRIGE, Baronet, who injoyed #is portion of this life in yo-time of greatest civill troubles yoever this nation had. He was a lover of liberty, and faithfull to his country. He delighted in sober company; and departed this. life, 7th of January, in England's peaceable year, Anno Dam. 1660.—Here lyes. DAME FRANGES HESILRIGE, daughter of Thomas Elmes, of Lilford, in y” county of Northampton, Esq. She was charitable, prudent, virtuous, and a loving wife. Sir Arthur Hesilrige had by her two sons and two daughters. She dyed in y” year 1632–Here lies DAME DoRoth EA HEsitRige, sister to Robert Greevill, Lord Brooke, and Baron of £eauchamps-Court. God gave to her true and great wisdeme, and a large and just heart: she did much good in her generation. $ir Arthur Hesilrige had by her three sons and five-daughters. She left this life y- 28 of January, 1650.” In the chancel is another monument, with recumbent effigies of Sir THohi As HESILRIGE, Knt. and “dame Frances” this wife; :and on the pediment are the kneeling statues of eight sons and * Itinerary, Vol. I. p. 15.

six daughters, a Here are monuments and inscriptions to other persons of the same family. But the church and monuments will all soon totally perish from neglect." - ". . .o.o. 9 to o i to . . oozoo. ... to: u. . . . . . . . . . . . . * * * : ..." or 7 Ouston, or Osulveston, formerly written Oseluxeston; Oulveston; and by Leland Wofolveston, is a village situated in a portion of Gartre hundred, that is environed with that of East Goscote.o. The whole lordship contains about 3000 acres of land, 400 of which are occupied by woods. At this place Robert Grimbald, one of the justices of England in the time of Henry the Second, founded a small ABBey, for canons regular of the order of St. Augustin. This was endowed with the whole “township of Osulveston and the advowson of the church there, with its chapels of Mardefeld and Nybothie; and the advowson also of the churches of Burrow and Slauston, and a moiety of that of Withcote, all in this county.” Other lands and churches were afterwards given to it. Mr. Nichols has printed a curious inventory of the goods, &c., remaining in this abbey in 1539, when most of them were sold. The site of this monastery, with the demesne lands, together of the yearly value of 431. were leased at the dissolution to Roger Ratcliffe, Esq., by indenture under the Seal of the court of Augmentation. When Buck visited Leicestershire, there was a large gateway, with several apartments of the abbey house remaining; but these have since been

taken down. - ‘. . . . ." . • * * * . . . . . . At Pickwell, a village on the eastern side of the county, was born, Dec. 30, 1637, WILLIAM CAve, son of the Rev. John Cave. This gentleman obtained several eminent promotions; being first appointed vicar of the church at Islington, Middlesex, where he was buried in August, 1713. He was appointed chaplain to King Charles the Second, and was made a canon of Windsor. Dr. Cave was author of several publications; among which his ‘Lives of the Apostles', folio, 1676.- Lives of the Primitive Fathers,’ folio, 1677—and “Primitive Christianity,' first printed in 1672; and since several times republished, have obtained tained most celebrity. “He was,” says Mr. Nichols, “an excellent and universal scholar, an elegant and polite writer, and a florid and very eloquent preacher. He was thoroughly acquainted with the history and constitution of the Christian church.”

SADINGtoN, a village on a gravelly eminence, about six miles N. W. of Harborough, was a royal demesne in the time of Edward the Confessor, and was then valued at four pounds a year. After the conquest it was estimated at nine pounds a year, and is recorded in the Domesday-Survey as belonging to the new momarch. Part of the Union Canal passes through this lordship; and in cutting a Tunnel, about half a mile north of the village, several curious fossils were discovered. Among these were some Ammonites, or Cornu-Ammonis, which appeared as if formed of brass; others were of a dark-blue “colour, and some were black, and bore a “beautiful polish.” Besides these, petrified cockles, muscles, and oysters, were obtained in abundance, and the earth appeared to contain much mineral substance. * * * : - - * : * In the village of ScRAPtoft, four miles east of Leicester, is ScRAPToft HALL,a seat belonging to Edward Hartoppe Wigley, Esq. and surrounded by a mass of fine woods, which cover nearly 100 acres of land. In the church-yard is a small stone cross, consisting of a single fluted shaft, raised on three circular steps. * & STAUNtoN, called Staunton-Wyvile, and Staunton-Brudenell, from the lords who possessed it at different periods, is a village about three miles north of Harborough. Of the former family was Robert DE WYv ILE, who was born here, and made Bishop of Salisbury, at the instance of Philippa, Queen of King Edward the Third, in 1329. After officiating in this see for forty-six years, he died in Sherborne Castle, Dorsetshire, Sept.4, 1375, and was buried in his cathedral at Salisbury, where is a large marble slab, inlaid with a brass plate, to his memory. Fuller observes of this Bishop, that “it is hard to say, whether he were - - . . . . . . . . .” -Indre

« PreviousContinue »