Page images

some particulars of the principal persons of the family, are detailed in Nichols's History, Wol, III. p. 449, &c.; also in Shaw's History of Staffordshire, Vol. I. p. 365. * . At this place was born THoMAs Skeffington, who was consecrated Bishop of Bangor in June 1509. He caused a window to be made in this church, in which, says Burton, was “his picture, arms, and a subscription.” He also made another window in Merevale church in Warwickshire, wherein was the following inscription in old letters, “Orate pro anima Thome Skeffington, episcopi Bangor;” with his arms, impaling those of the See of Bangor. Burton further states, that this Bishop “built. all the cathedral church at Bangor, from the quire downwards to the west end, and the fine tower steeple, which was not fully perfected when he died, but after finished by his executors, though not to that height he had intended.” Wood relates, that. Bishop Skeffington became, when young, professed in the monastery of Cistertians at Merevale; instructed in theological and, other learning in St. Bernard's college, originally built for Cistertians in the north suburb of Oxford (being now St. John's college), to which place he bequeathed 20I. towards its reparation. He was afterwards made Abbot of Waverley, a house of that order in Surrey.” He died in 1533, and his heart was interred in the cathedral at Bangor, but his body was conveyed to and buried in. the monastery of Beaulieu in Hampshire.

Syston, one of the most populousvillages in the county, is seated, on the turnpike road between Leicester and Melton, at the distance of five miles from the former. The Lordship contains about 1800 acres, the greater part of which is appropriated to grazing. The Earl of Stamford is Lord of the manor. In the year 1777, the open fields of this village, and those of Barkby, were appointed to be inclosed by Act of Parliament; a brook runs on the western side of the village, over which a Bridge was erected in 1797. This was begun and completed in nine days by three bricklayers, with their six labourers; and from the rapidity of its - execution,

execution, has since been called “The Nine Days Wonder.” The quantity of materials used in this bridge, was 25,000 bricks and 150 tons weight of stone. Within this lordship is an eminence called Mowde-bush-Hill, on which is a stone inscribed with that name. The late Sir John Danvers formerly held a meeting at Mountsorele, called Mowde-bush-Court, at which time the lawyer

or Steward of Sir John went to Mowde-bush hill, and cutting

a piece of turf, carried it to the court. The Parish Register of Syston begins in 1594, and contains, among various other entries, the following; which are curious, as illustrative of the customs, expences, &c. of former times. “1597, paid to the armour dresser, 3s. 4d.; also for the town sword, 7s. –1599, paid to Peter Pollard, for helping to drive away the Town Bull, that was sold, 1.d.-Paid for a Bull, 30s. ; paid for another Bull, 40s. 6d.-1600, paid to Thomas Pollard, for moving the Bull-hooke, 12d.—1601, old Julien Rivett, widow, bequeathed by will, 12d. upon the church; which was bestowed upon painting the church porch and oiling of the same. —1601, spent at Leicester, when we were summoned to appear at the court, for that some of the priests had wrought on St. Bartholomew's day, 12d.—1602, paid to Lord Morden's Players, because they should not play in the church, 12d.—1602, harvest late; barley not got in before St. Matthew's day; and on that day no peas nor beans were got in, in Syson.—1603, a pound of good hops sold for 2s. 8d.; a strike of malt, 17d. and a strike of wheat, 2s. 4d.—1606, grinding was so scant, either by water or wind, that at the feast of St. Luke, the people came from Hinckley to Syston to grind their corn.-1609, at Loughborough, 500 people died of the plague.” The church is large, with a nave, ailes, chancel, and a square tower. A passage to the rood-loft still remains, and a skreen separates the nave from the chancel. A Chantry was founded here by William Grendell, priest, for one priest to sing mass and perform other service, for which he was to receive 31. 11s. 2d. arising out of lands and tenements. In 1534-5, the procurations. 2 and

and synodals were 13s. 4d.; the value of the vicarage, 71.6s. 8d.: and John Benskin, the chantry priest, had 3l. 9s. a-year. In 1650, Syston was returned as an impropriation, the rectory worth 120l.; the vicar's stipend of money, 201.; and the incumbent “sufficient.”—About a mile south-west of this village is a Tumulus, on the eastern side of the Foss"road.

SILEBY, a large and populous village, on the eastern bank of the Soar. The extent of the lordship from east to west is one mile and half, and from north to south two miles. It contains about 2139 acres. In 1759, an Act was passed for inclosing about 2200 acres of open fields belonging to this village; and William Pochin, Esq. was then described as impropriator and patron of the vicarage, and entitled to all the great and small tithes, and to the glebe and other land. The manor now belongs to Earl Ferrers, by whom it has been customary to call a court once in three years. There were formerly two ancient mansionhouses at Sileby, one belonging to the Sherard family, and the other to that of Pochin. Most of the inhabitants are empleyed in agriculture and frame-work-knitting. Here is a free school, and three other large schools; and in 1800, there were 234 houses and 1111 inhabitants.

The church is built of stone, and ornamented with much sculpture. It consists of a nave, ailes, chancel, porch, and tower. The latter is handsome, and has pursled pinnacles with ornamental buttresses, and the whole of the church is in a fine style of architecture. It was first appropriated to the Abbey of St. Ebrulph in Normandy, which was suppressed by King Henry the Fifth. In the subsequent reign, John Duke of Norfolk obtained a patent from the king to appropriate this church to St. Mary's Priory, in the isle of Axholme, in the county of Lincolu.

[ocr errors]

GARTRE HUNDRED is bounded by that of East Goscote to the north, that of Guthlaxton to the west, whilst the counties of - Northampton

Northampton and Rutland attach to its southern and eastern borders. This hundred is regularly noticed in Domesday-book by the names of Gertrev and Geretrev. Nearly in the centre of it, is a place called Gartre-Bush, where, till the beginning of the last century, were held the county courts; since held at TurLangton. The great mail road from London to Leicester, Manchester, &c. now crosses this hundred, nearly in a line from south-east to north-west. The principal road was formerly more to the east, and is supposed to have been in the track of the Via Devann, a Roman road which enters this hundred, from Colchester, near the village of Bringhurst, and continues in a direct line to Ratae or Leicester. Near Medbourn are the earthworks of an encampment; and between Cranoe and Glooston is

a large Tumulus on the course of this road. The townships in Gartre Hundred, with their ecclesiastical dis

tinctions, are

Bagrave, a chapelry belonging originally to Keame, and afterwards to Hungarton.

Billesdon, a vicarage; including Goadby and Roeleston, in each of which there is a chapel.

Bishop's Fee (Suburbs of Lei


Blaston, a small township with two chapels; the one, a royal donative, within the parish of Medbourn; the other, a chapelry to Hallaton.

Bosworth, Husbands, a rectory.

Bowden, Great, a perpetual curacy; including the vicarage of St. Mary in Arden, and the chapelry of Market Harborough.

Bradley, the site of an old priory. Bringhurst, a vicarage; including the chapelries of Drayton and Great Easton; with Prestgrave. Burrow, a rectory. Burton Overy, a rectory. Carlton Curlew, a rectory; including the chapelry of Ilston. Cranhoe, a rectory. Evington, a vicarage. Foxton, a vicarage. Gally, a rectory; including the chapelry of Frisby. Glen Magna, a vicarage; including the chapelry of Great Stretton. Glewston,

Glewston, a rectory. Gumley, a rectory. Hallaton, a double rectory, in two medieties; including the chapel of St. Nicholas at Blaston. Holyoak, a hamlet of Dry Stoke, in the county of Rutland. Horninghold, a vicarage. Houghton on the Hill, a rectory. Ingarsby, a chapelry belonging to Hungarton. Keythorpe, a chapelry belonging to Tugby. Kibworth Harcourt, a rectory; including the hamlets of Kibworth Beauchamp, Smeton, and Westerby. Knossington, a rectory. Church Langton, a rectory; including the chapelries of Thorpe Langton and Tur

[merged small][merged small][ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

Norton, a vicarage; including the chapelry of Little Stretton. Nouseley, originally a rectory; and afterwards a collegiate church. Ouston, a perpetual curacy; including the hamlet of Newbold. Pickwell, a rectory; including the hamlet of Leesthorpe. Prestgrave, a depopulated village (See Bringhurst.) Sadington, a rectory. Scraptoft, a vicarage. Shankton, a rectory; including the hamlet of Hardwick. Slauston, a vicarage; including the hamlet of Outhorpe. Staunton Wyvile, a rectory. Stokerston, a rectory. Thedingworth, a vicarage; including the hamlet of Hothorp. Thurnby, a vicarage; including the chapelries of Bushby and Stoughton. Welham, a vicarage. Wistow, a vicarage; including the chapelries of Fleckney, Kilby, and Newton Harcourt.


« PreviousContinue »