Page images
[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]
[ocr errors]


Agrippina returns to Rome-Mourning for Germanicus—Trial of Piso

-Piso's Defense-Fate of Piso, and Trial of Plancina—Tacfarinas
renews the War in Africa - Accusation of Lepida - Origin and
Changes of Laws,Nero, Son of Germanicus-Fresh Commotions in

Asiaticus and Poppæa accused—Venality of the Informers—Commo-

tions among the Parthians—Bardanes assassinated-Acts of Clau-
dius as Censor-Italicus, King of the Cheruscans Strict Discipline

[merged small][ocr errors]

Armenia invaded by Vologeses Pætus sent to Armenia-Incapacity

of Pætus—The Roman Legions besieged-Pætus retreats from Ar-

menia-Decree concerning Adoptions—Nero's Daughter, Augusta-
Corbulo enters Armenia—Treaty with the Parthians-Nero appears
on the Public Stage-Prodigality of the Times—Great Fire at Rome

- The City rebuilt—The Christians accused by Nero-A Conspiracy

formed — Progress of the Conspiracy – The Plot discovered — The

Conspirators impeached-Death of Piso—Last Moments of Seneca

-Fenius Rufus impeached—Vestinus put to death-Nero assembles

the Senate........


sius and Silanus-L. Vetus, Sextia, and Pollutia-Anteius and Osto-

rius-Character of C. Petronius–Thrasea accused–Thrasea requests

a Hearing—The Senate intimidated-Soranus and his Daughter ac-

cused–Thrasea prepares to die ....




1. Kings held dominion in the city of Rome from its foundation : Lucius Brutus instituted liberty and the consulate." Dictatorships were resorted to in temporary emergencies:

In this introduction Tacitus gives us a compendious view of the Roman government, in all its various forms, and every deviation from its first principles, from the foundation of the city to the establishment of the Cæsars. The several forms were as follows:

I The regal government, which lasted, under seven successive kings, above two hundred and forty years, and ended at last by the expulsion of Tarquin,

II. The consulship, and the republican government established by Brutus, A.U.c. 245; before the Christian era 509.

III. The supreme authority of the dictator, created in pressing exigencies, and for a limited time. This office was first instituted, according to Livy, A.U.C. 253.

IV. The decemvirs appointed to frame a body of laws. They were the only magistrates. The government, which was transferred from kings to consuls, was now vested in the decemvirs. Their code of laws was finished within two years. It was called the Twelve Tables. The well-known tyranny of Appius brought upon them the name of the "Ten Tarquins.” Their magistracy ended A.U.C. 305.

V. The military tribunes, in a violent contention between the patricians and commoðalty, invested with the authority of the consuls

, and exercising all the functions of those two magistrates, A.U.C. 310. In the following year the consular government was once more restored.

VI. The usurpation of Cinna, A.U.C. 667.

VII. The domination of Sylla; who assumed the power of dictator, A.U.C. 672, and continued in that station till the year 675, when he made a voluntary abdication, and retired to lead the life of a private citizen.

VIII. The triumvirate of Pompey, Crassus, and Julius Cæsar, A.U.C. 699. This was a faction, not a legal institution.

IX. Cæsar perpetual dictator, A.u.c.706.
X. The triumvirate of Antony, Lepidus, and Augustus, A.U.c. 711.
XI. The supreme power vested in Augustus, A.U.c. 724. Such were


« PreviousContinue »