The Gates

Front Cover
Hodder & Stoughton, 2010 - Boys - 320 pages
Samuel Johnson and his dachshund, Boswell, are trying to show initiative by trick-or-treating a full three days before Halloween which is how they come to witness the Abernathys unknowingly call forth Satan himself, creating a gap in the universe through with the gates to Hell are visible. There are some pretty terrifying beings just itching to get out and Samuel must harness the power of science, faith, and love to save the world and defeat evil. Suggested level: intermediate, secondary.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
13
4 stars
20
3 stars
15
2 stars
2
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - et.carole - LibraryThing

This was another spectacular book in the vein of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's Good Omens. Samuel and his trusty pal Boswell are just adorable. You spend most of the book wanting to give Samuel a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - curious_squid - LibraryThing

Unusual pairing of apocolyptic zombie drama, children's book and quantum physics lesson. Tries a little too hard in places to be funny, endless footnotes start dragging the book down, but over all a fun read. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

John Connolly was born in Dublin in 1968. His debut - EVERY DEAD THING - swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers, and all his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers. He is the first non-American writer to win the US Shamus award.

Bibliographic information