Page images
PDF
[ocr errors][ocr errors]

burgh, Port-Seton, Aberlady, and North Berwick. There Vol. XVII. K are

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

Markets, Mills, &c.—There is a butcher market in the parish every Wednesday and Saturday, which is supplied by butchers from Tranent and Musselburgh, no person of that occupation residing in the parish. Though nine tenths of the lands are rented, there is not one family who depend for their livelihood solely on farming.—There are only 5 brewers in the parish *. There are two mills, one of which, at the west end of Cuttle, is turned by the water of a coal-level; the other, at Morison's Haven, is turned by the sea water, colle&ted at the flow of the tide. They are employed in grinding flint for the use of the potteries.

Stage and Toll.—A stage coach goes to Edinburgh and returns every day in the week, except Sunday. It departs at 9 o'clock in the morning, and arrives at Edinburgh about 11. It leaves Edinburgh at 4 in the afternoon, and arrives at Preston-pans about 6. It carries 6 inside passengers; the fare is 1. s. 8d. for each. There are 2 toll-bars, Ravenshaugh toll on the post road, and Wallyford toll, on a cross road lead

[ocr errors]

draws a mere trifle, were let at the following yearly rents: Anno 1758 at L. 197 Anno 1791 at L. 401 1790 390 1792 417

[ocr errors]

* The brewery of malt liquors was formerly carried on to a much greater extent than it is now. In the year 1754 there were 16 brewers, o

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

+ The sum of 250 l above mentioned, was left by different

persons to the poor. One hundred of it was bequeathed by the

late Andrew MacDowal of BANkton, one of the Senators of

the College of Justice, who bequeathed a like sum to the * Q

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]
[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »