« PreviousContinue »
the river are Nos. 4 and 5 Graving Docks, each 170 yards in length, and admirably contrived for the building and repairing of ships. These docks communicate with the King's Dock Basin, and by means of sluices in the gates, can be left dry when required for the purposes of ship building.
THE KING'S DOCK.
To the north of the former is the King's Dock, which was opened on the 3rd of October, 1788, having cost £25,000. The first two vessels that entered it were the Amphitrite and the Hannah. All ships laden with tobacco are obliged to discharge their cargoes here, in order to be deposited in the Tobacco Warehouse, which is situate on the west side. This dock extends from north to south 270 yards, and from east to west 95 yards, and is surrounded by a spacious quay, with sheds for the discharging of tobacco. The entrance is from the basin to the south side, where are strong gates, 28 feet deep and 42 feet wide, and a neat cast iron bridge, which moves on a swivel, crosses this entrance. In this dock a Floating Chapel has been moored for several years, and is appropriated to the use of sailors, and divine service is performed in it every Sunday.
THE DUKE'S DOCK.
This was constructed by the late Duke of Bridgewater, for the purpose of loading and dis
charging the flats belonging to him. It is supplied with an elegant and commodious range of warehouses, arched in the centre, so that vessels can be placed under the very rooms of the building, and by means of hatch-ways the cargoes are loaded and unloaded without being exposed to the weather. This dock belongs to the executors of the late Duke of Bridgewater.
THE SALTHOUSE DOCK.
The form of this dock is rather irregular, being on the east side 297 yards, at the south end 80 yards, on the north end about 150 yards, and together with its passage, comprising an area of 23,025 yards. It was opened in the year 1753, and took its name from an adjacent salt-work, at that time situate on the site now occupied by Orford-street, but since removed to Garston. On the east side is a range of extensive warehouses, under the front part of which is a piazza, for the accommodation of persons passing along the street. The vessels that usually lie in this dock are chiefly employed in the Levant, the Irish, and the Coasting trade. The gates are 23 feet deep, and 34 feet wide. A few years since several buildings which stood at the north end were removed, thereby giving a considerable increase of quay-room. It is the intention of the corporation to enlarge this dock; and also that part
lying on the west, which is at present appropriated to various yards belonging to ship-builders, is intended to be formed into a dock for the reception of the vessels employed in the carrying or inland trade.
THE DRY DOCK.
A few years ago this dock was repaired, when new walls were erected a little further back than where the original ones stood. The west side is 150 yards in length, the north end 64 yards, the east side 219 yards, and the south end is 108 yards in length. On the west side are Nos. 1, 2, and 3, Graving Docks, which communicate with this, and are used for the repairing of vessels. The shipping which frequent this dock are chiefly employed in the coasting trade, and import corn and other productions peculiar to this kingdom, and in return take the various foreign products brought into this port. About five years since, the buildings which occupied the east side of this dock, as well as the whole of those situate on the west side of Strand-street, were entirely removed.
The first stone of this dock was laid on the 1st of April, 1767, and the whole expense amounted to £21,000. About nine years ago it was re
paired, and considerably enlarged, being carried 21 yards further to the west. At the south end it communicates with the Dry Dock by means of an entrance 110 yards long, the gates of which are 25 feet deep, and 36 feet wide, and those at the north end are 29 feet deep, and 42 feet wide. In length it was 246 yards, and in width 100 yards, including an area of 26,068 square yards. On the east side stands a magnificent pile of warehouses, having an extensive piazza for the convenience of foot passengers. The quay-room surrounding this dock is spacious, and on the western side are sheds, by which goods may be prevented from sustaining injury by the rain. The Basin is situate on the north, and its dimensions are at the south end 163 yards in length, the east and west sides are each 112 yards long, and the north end 154 yards.
To the south of George's Pierhead is the Manchester Dock, which belongs to the Mersey and Irwell Company, and is appropriated to the reception of the flats employed in the carrying of the various products of many of the adjacent
THE PRINCE'S DOCK.
The stability and beauty of the architecture displayed in the construction of this dock calls forth the admiration of every judicious observer.
The foundation stone was laid on the 17th May, 1816, and it was opened on the 19th July, 1821, the same day that the ceremony of the coronation of the late king George IV. was performed. On this occasion the numerous bodies of artizans belonging to the town were assembled on the adjoining quays, accompanied by bands of music, and those of each trade having banners, decorated with their peculiar devices. The first vessel admitted was the May, a Liverpool-built ship, whose entrance was announced by a salute of nineteen guns, amidst the joyous acclamations of an immense concourse of spectators, who afterwards in procession preambulated some of the principal streets of the town, and spent the remainder of the day in joy and festivity.
The length of this dock from north to south is 500 yards, and the average width from east to west is 110 yards, containing an area of about 54,000 square yards. The total expense has been estimated at £650,000. At each end there is a dwelling-house, with appropriate offices, designed for the use of the dock-masters. There are two entrances, one from George's Dock Basin at the south, the gates of which are 45 feet wide, and 34 feet deep, and another at the north end, whose gates are of the same dimensions. Each of these passages is furnished with a lock, so framed as to admit vessels either in or out at half-tide. This dock and its quays are enclosed