The Gates

Front Cover
Turtleback, Aug 30, 2011 - Juvenile Fiction - 296 pages
51 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
Young Samuel Johnson and his dachshund, Boswell, are trying to show initiative by trick-or-treating a full three days before Halloween, which is how they come to witness strange goings-on at 666 Crowley Road. The Abernathys don't mean any harm by their flirtation with the underworld, but when they unknowingly call forth Satan himself, they create a gap in the universe, a gap through which a pair of enormous gates is visible. The gates to Hell. And there are some pretty terrifying beings just itching to get out.... Can one small boy defeat evil? Can he harness the power of science, faith, and love to save the world as we know it?

Bursting with imagination and impossible to put down, The Gates is about the pull between good and evil, physics and fantasy and the courage of a boy who is barely old enough to trick or treat on his own. This novel makes anything seem possible.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
13
4 stars
20
3 stars
15
2 stars
2
1 star
1

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - MarkLacy - LibraryThing

[2010] Having read John Connolly's The Book of Lost Things and enjoying it, I looked forward to reading his latest novel, The Gates. Unfortunately, a hundred pages into the book, I'm giving up. In ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - et.carole - LibraryThing

This was another spectacular book in the vein of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's Good Omens. Samuel and his trusty pal Boswell are just adorable. You spend most of the book wanting to give Samuel a ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

John Connolly is the author of "Every Dead Thing" which was a bestseller in Britain and Ireland. He is a regular contributor to "The Irish Times," and has traveled extensively in the United States. He lives in Dublin, Ireland.

Bibliographic information