Asking for it

Front Cover
Riverrun, Jul 7, 2016 - Fiction - 368 pages
6 Reviews

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way.

Until that night . . .

Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.

And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kk1 - LibraryThing

I found this book quite hard to read - as well as teenage talk and behaviour feeling quite alienating, none of the characters are that likeable. It felt that even the author wasn't on her side - she ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mjspear - LibraryThing

Hard-hitting recounting of teen girl's rape. Emma is not a "nice" girl: she's a queen b (in every sense of that letter!) smart, popular and beautiful --and she knows it. She drinks, sleeps around, and ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2016)

Louise O' Neill was born in West Cork in 1985. She studied English at Trinity College Dublin and has worked for the senior style director of American Elle magazine. She is currently working as a freelance journalist for a variety of Irish national newspapers and magazines. Her debut novel Only Ever Yours won the inaugural YA Book Prize. He second novel is entitled Asking for It.

Bibliographic information