Asking for It

Front Cover
Riverrun, 2016 - Ireland - 368 pages
3 Reviews

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way.

Until that night . . .

Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.

And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pattjl - LibraryThing

I was really excited to read this book after having read and loved O'Neill's first book. As I did with her debut novel, I had a hard time putting it down. I'm giving it 3/5 stars because I'm still not sure how I feel about the main character. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ecataldi - LibraryThing

Hands down the most brutal and honest look at teenage rape in our modern era of social media. Louise O'Neill does a great job bringing Emma to life, she's flawed and she's bitchy but was she really ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2016)

Louise O' Neill was born in west Cork in 1985. She studied English at Trinity College Dublin and has worked for the senior style director of American Elle magazine. She is currently working as a freelance journalist for a variety of Irish national newspapers and magazines. She lives in Clonakilty, west Cork, her website is louiseoneillauthor.com and you can find her on Twitter @oneilllo

Bibliographic information