Asking For It: the haunting novel from a celebrated voice in feminist fiction

Front Cover
Quercus, Sep 3, 2015 - Fiction - 400 pages
10 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way.

Until that night . . .

Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.

And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Dairyqueen84 - LibraryThing

Simply devastating. I would have given 5 stars but I thought the parents reaction was off. Maybe I just can't conceive of what kind of parents would react the way they did to their daughter's gang ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Teresa1966 - LibraryThing

Tricky to begin, but after adapting to the writing style, it seemed perfect for capturing the thoughts, feelings and experiences of our teenage protagonist, Emma. And Emma's experiences are very ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2015)

Louise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner.

Bibliographic information